24th Chaos Communication Congress

We gave a talk at the 24C3 congress in Berlin and presented the Paparazzi project. Two autonomous aircraft flying near Toulouse, France and Hildesheim, Germany were controlled from the big screen in the auditorium in Berlin.

CCC: Paparazzi – The Free Autopilot

The trajectory was modified in flight, telemetry and live on-board video data was shown. There were teams launching and supervising the aircraft locally. There is an SPIEGEL Online article (in German).

Iceland

We are back from the Icelandic Highlands. It is a harsh environment for both humans and airplanes. The IR sensors performed pretty well and we collected a lot of meteo data for the Flohof campaign in the area around the Hofsjökull glacier.

IMG_5483

With the help of the Icelandic ATC we set a new Paparazzi altitude record.

Start




It all started with a visit to the micro air vehicle contest in Braunschweig EMAV 2004. There was a Multiplex Twinstar and Microjet that flew perfectly even though the weather was not nice at all. They had funny looking sensors that I had never seen on an airplane. It was great to find out that all the used hard and software was open source – Paparazzi. I got in contact with Antoine and Pascal, the fathers of the project.

24th Chaos Communication Congress

Auf dem 24C3 Kongress in Berlin haben wir Paparazzi in einem Vortrag vorgestellt. Zwei eigenständig fliegende Flugzeuge wurden in Toulouse/Frankreich und Hildesheim/Deutschland von der großen Leinwand in Berlin aus gesteuert.

CCC: Paparazzi – The Free Autopilot

Der Flugweg konnte aus Berlin modifiziert werden und es wurden live on-board Videobilder übertragen. Die Flugzeuge wurden vor Ort von Paparazzi Teams gestartet und überwacht. SPIEGEL Online hat einen Artikel.

Island

Wir sind zurück vom isländischen Hochland. Es war eine heftige Umgebung für Mensch und Material. Die Infrarot-Lagesensoren haben prima funktioniert und wir haben eine Menge Wetterdaten für die Flohof Messkampagne rund um den Hofsjökull Gletscher gesammelt.

IMG_5483

Mit der Hilfe des isländischen Flugkontrolle haben wir einen neuen Paparazzi Höhenrekord aufgestellt.

Start




Angefangen hat alles mit einem Besuch des European Micro Air Vehicle Wettbewerbs (EMAV) in Braunschweig 2004. Dort flogen ein Multiplex Twinstar und Microjet perfekt autonom am HImmel, obwohl das Wetter alles andere als nett war. Montiert waren dazu Sensoren, die ich noch nie gesehen hatte. Es war super herauszufinden, dass alle benutzte Hard- und Software als Open Source veröffentlicht war – Paparazzi. Ich kam in Kontakt mit Antoine and Pascal, den Vätern des Projekts.