Theweather

A simple wind measurement control loop was written for the Bebop2 quadcopter. It tries to keep the roll angle at zero to align with the wind. It works well if there is a certain wind speed and clear, non-turbulenced wind. The wind speed is going to be determined later from the pitch angle.

The SODAR is set up. An array of loudspeakers pushes a very loud, audible series of pulses into the air and receives the response from the atmosphere with microphones.

The wind direction and wind speed can be determined based on the reflections at the air layers (having a different temperature).

At noon a cloud layer starts to cover the sky. It starts to snow in the afternoon. During supper we see that the weather should stay like that the rest of the week. There is some chance that a time window might open again during the night.

The measurements require a stable boundary layer. Clear skies without clouds and cold air would be ideal. We prepare for flights in the night, but in the end we don’t. In between we watch the rocket launch.

Funny ice

It is hazy all day. The lighthouse disappears in the fog and you can not see the horizon.

Everything is covered with fine grown ice crystals. There is a jingling noise when running in it.

The 10m mast is put up and the instruments are connected and tested. The anchoring is done by wooden sticks that quickly freeze in drilled holes.

We fly some low circles with the SUMOs in the late afternoon. The moisture immediately settles as ice on the propeller and the leading edge of the wing.

The performance of the aircraft decreases slightly with the changed surface of the wings and the propeller. We land before it is critical. How nice that there is de-icing for man-carrying planes.

Setup

The last storm piled up the sea ice on the beach in up to 4m high walls, unfortunately. This bothers when starting and landing the unmanned aircraft and changes the meteorological conditions.

The measurement equipment has to be installed way out on the ice.

The mast will be erected tomorrow morning.

Ferry

We are back in northern Finland (a report from the first trip will follow below). This is part of a measurement campaign over the sea ice of the Gulf of Bothnia (the northern continuation of the Baltic Sea), next to the island of Hailuoto.

Last year we could drive over the ice with the car. This year it is too weak (25cm instead of the required 40cm). We take the free ferry. 3MW of diesel-electric power push it through the broken ice. Only 30cm of water are under the keel at some points. You can see the lights from an icebreaker on the horizon. It is waiting to help ships loaded with wood from Oulu.

The unfriendly weather in Germany called for a de-icing of the aircraft. Here in the north it is crisp cold at -12°C. Just as winter must be.

One More

Leaving for the station to do some final experimental flights!

Fram

We do some tests with the quadcopter. There was not enough time (and daylight) besides the SUMO flights to try new stuff.

Fram

On our way home to UNIS we stop at the beach and make a final flight with four profiles over sea/land. There is a low hanging cloud. The humidity sensor is saturated during the entire flight. The PT1000 temperature sensor shows an erratic and significantly lower air temperature of -12°C instead of the -4°C the humidity sensor measures in the lower 150m altitude. We have a close look at the flight performance but there is nothing strange to see.

Fram

After landing we notice that the propellers leading edge and the wing tip is covered with clear ice.

Dismounting

There was a lot of wind last night. The snow in the surrounding mountains is blown away. There were heavy winds up to 16m/s in 100m altitude. The wind was lower at higher altitudes, only 10m/s in 300m. Nevertheless we stopped flying as no good scientific results were to be expected.

Scooters

It is the last outdoor day. The groups go into the valleys to collect the weather stations.

Vimeo: Scientific unmanned aircraft over Svalbard

This is a video from spring 2014. It was three weeks later into the year and the sun was up higher. The SUMO flies figures-of-eight automatically at about 100m above the station through Adventdalen. Take-off and landing is manual.

In valleys

Adventdalen is the main valley, the northern lights station is located in the center and the airport at the end towards Isfjorden. Longyearbyen is located in a side valley (map).

Launch Endalen

The airport is closed on Saturday and we can go earlier. The first objective is to fly multiple profiles in the narrow Endalen. There are only 100m distance between the flight path and the valley at some points. We head to it with the rumbling belt wagon.

Endalen

SUMO flies into the valley passing several waypoints and then does profiles on its way back from behind. The plane disappears behind laterally hillocks from time to time while flying low. Very unusual. Normally you would not fly a model airplane visually into terrain. It all works smoothly.

Adventdalen Fjord

We spend the rest of the evening at Adventalens beach for sea/land profiles. There is a weather change so it will be very interesting flights. There were westerly winds from the sea the last days. Now it switches to colder easterly winds from the land. The air masses interact at the water border, slide over each other creating a sharp boundary, mixing slowly.

Grill

The day ends with grilled sausages and salmon.

Bandvagn

In the evening we use the belt wagon to drive to the brink of the transition between ice and water in Adventdalen to measure profiles between sea and land. All four tracks of that vehicle are driven. The steering happens through the hydraulic change of the angle between the front and rear cabin. It is uncomfortably loud inside during the ride, worse in the front as the engine is not really damped.

However, the cabin has the distinct advantage of an easy installation of the 5-hole probe and the fast temperature sensor during the flight preparation. Reading the logger and reprogramming after flight is also a lot easier then on snow scooters.

Fram

In general there is little precipitation on Svalbard, it is more of an Arctic desert. Today there are thick snowflakes. We have not yet flown under such conditions. We fear that the fine 12µm platinum wire of the rapid temperature sensor might brake, but we try it anyway.

Fine Wire

The wire actually breaks during the third profile just before the descent from 500m. It seems that there was no direct influence from the aircraft. The engine was constantly running at half throttle and there were no strong actuator movements.

The downward facing infrared radiation sensor measures a significantly lower temperature in high altitudes than the soil temperature measured at low altitude. It could be that the raw flakes are colder during the fall as they come from higher air layers.

First Flights

This time the focus of the measurements is on the heat exchange between the air, the land and the sea water. One group rides their sensor-equipped snow scooters through the valleys, one group goes out on the fjord with a small ship and gathers wind data, air and water temperatures, one operates the balloon at the station and another one flies with the SUMO. Every now and then data from the loggers of the various stations are read out.

Adventdalen Fjord

We received a permission to fly further out and higher up this time. Vertical flights are a lot more interesting than horizontal ones. We do profiles from 50m-500m in 1km distance in Adventdalen between the station and the shore line.

Die Örtlichkeit

Untergebracht sind wir in kleinen Ferienhäusern (Hailuodon Majakkapiha) am westlichen Rand von Hailuoto.

Daten von OpenStreetMap

Im kleinen Restaurant werden wir 3x am Tag verpflegt. Es gibt ein ausführliches Frühstück und zwei warme Malzeiten. Bei der Kälte verbrennt man das problemlos. Die Logistik und der Betrieb ist super-effizient, die Wege sind kurz.

Im Hafen haben wir ein Haus, von dem wir den SUMO aus fliegen und an der Technik arbeiten können.

Der bebop2met Quadcopter wird wegen der eingeschränkten Flugzeit direkt vom Eis aus betrieben.

Danger Area

Für die Flüge außerhalb der Sichtweite wurde die Danger Area EFD451 eingerichtet. Damit können wir in einem etwa 4km x 4km großen Bereich bis zu 6500 Fuß hoch fliegen.

Die Messdaten des SUMO Fliegers können während des Fluges auf einem zweiten Laptop analysiert werden.

Geflogen wird in einer Korkenzieher-Spirale nach oben, dort wird ein kompletter Kreis geflogen und es geht in der gleichen Spirale (ohne Antrieb) wieder hinunter. Das SODAR funktioniert bis etwa 650m und die Messwerte können verglichen werden.

DasWetter

Für den Bebop2 Quadcopter wurde eine simple Regelung zur Windmessung geschrieben. Es wird versucht, die Querlage (roll) auf Null zu bringen, um sich so gegen den Wind auszurichten. Ab einer gewissen Windstärke und bei unverwirbeltem, klarem Windstrom funktioniert das gut. Die Windgeschwindigkeit soll später aus der Neigung bestimmt werden.

Das SODAR wird aufgebaut. Ein Lautsprecherarray schickt einen sehr lauten, hörbaren Ton in die Luft und nimmt mit Mikrofonen die „Antwort“ der Atmosphäre auf.

Anhand der Reflektionen an den unterschiedlich warmen Luftschichten kann die Windrichtung und Windgeschwindigkeit bestimmt werden.

Mittags zieht sich eine Wolkenschicht über den Himmel, es fängt nachmittags an zu schneien. Während des Abendbrots sehen wir in der Vorhersage, dass das Wetter die ganze Woche so bleiben soll. Vielleicht öffnet sich nachts nochmal ein Fenster.

Für die Messungen ist eine stabile Grenzschicht nötig. Klarer Himmel ohne Wolken und kalte Luft wären dazu ideal. Wir bereiten uns auf Flüge in der Nacht vor, am Ende fliegen wir aber nicht mehr. Zwischendurch schauen wir Raketenstart.

Komisches Eis

Den ganzen Tag ist es diesig. Der Leuchtturm verschwindet im Nebel und man sieht keinen Horizont.

Alles ist überzogen mit feinen gewachsenen Eiskristallen. Beim Laufen darin entsteht ein klimperndes Rauschen.

Der 10m Mast wird aufgestellt und die Instrumente angeschlossen. Die Verankerung geschieht über Holzstäbe, die in gebohrten Löchern schnell festfrieren.

Am späten Nachmittag fliegen wir einige tiefe Kreise mit den SUMOs. Die Feuchtigkeit schlägt sich umgehend in Form von Eis an Propeller und Flügelvorderkante nieder.

Die Leistung des Flugzeugs lässt mit der veränderten Oberfläche der Tragflächen und des Propellers etwas nach. Wir landen, bevor es kritisch ist. Wie gut, dass es für manntragende Flieger Enteisung gibt.

Aufbau

Leider hat der letzte Sturm das Meereseis am Strand zu 4m hohen Wällen aufgetürmt. Das stört beim Starten und Landen der unbemannten Flugzeuge, verändert aber vor allem die meteorologischen Verhältnisse.

Die Messgeräte müssen hinter den Wällen weit hinaus auf dem Eis installiert werden.

Aufrichten werden wir den Masten erst morgen früh.

Fähre

Wir sind zurück in Finnland (von der ersten Reise wird weiter unten noch berichtet werden). Vor der Insel Hailuoto ganz im Norden Finnlands werden wir Messungen über dem Eis des Bottnischen Meerbusens machen (das ist die nördliche Fortsetzung der Ostsee).

Letztes Jahr konnten wir noch mit dem Auto über das Eis fahren, dieses Jahr ist es noch zu schwach (25cm statt der erforderlichen 40cm). Wir nehmen die kostenlose Fähre. Mit 3MW Diesel-elektrischer Leistung schiebt sie sich durch die aufgebrochene Fahrrinne, minimal sind nur 30cm Wasser unter dem Kiel. Am Horizont sieht man Lichter eines Eisbrechers, der darauf wartet, Schiffe mit Holzladung aus Oulu eine Rinne zu brechen.

In Deutschand sorgte das Schmuddelwetter um die Null Grad für eine Enteisung des Fliegers. Hier im Norden ist es mit -12°C knackig kalt und klar.

Zuschlag

Es geht nochmal raus zur Station zu ein paar experimentellen Flügen.

Fram

Wir testen den Quadcopter, letztlich war neben den SUMO Meßflügen aber zu wenig Zeit (und Sonnenlicht) für Neues.

Fram

Auf dem Heimweg zu UNIS halten wir am Strand und machen einen letzten Flug mit vier Profilen über See/Land. Über der Wassergrenze liegt eine dünne Wolke. Der Sensor für die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit ist den gesamten Flug über in der Sättigung. In den unteren 150m zeigt der PT1000 Temperatursensor eine erratische und offensichtlich zu kalte Temperatur (-12°C gegenüber konstanten -4°C des Feuchtesensors). Wir haben die Flugperformance im Blick – es zeigen sich aber keine Auffälligkeiten.

Fram

Nach der Landung sehen wir, dass die Propellervorderkante und die Flügelspitze mit klarem Eis überzogen ist.

Abbau

Die Nacht hat es stark gestürmt. Der Schnee auf den Bergen ist wie weggefegt. Es gab Sturm mit bis zu 16m/s Wind in 100m Höhe. Nach oben wurde der Wind interessanterweise weniger, in 300m waren es nur noch 10m/s. Trotzdem brachen wir die Profilflüge ab, da keine guten Daten zu erwarten waren.

Scooters

Heute ist der letzte Tag des Outdoor-Teils. Die Gruppen fahren auf Schneescootern und im Raupenfahrzeug hinaus, um die Stationen in den Tälern abzubauen.

Vimeo: Scientific unmanned aircraft over Svalbard

Ein Video aus dem Frühjahr 2014, bei dem die Sonne schon höher am Himmel stand. SUMO fliegt automatisch liegende Achten in etwa 100m über der Station durchs Adventdalen, Start und Landung sind manuell.

Talfliegen

Adventdalen ist das Haupttal, in dessen Mitte die Nordlicht-Station und am Ende der Flughafen liegt. Longyearbyen liegt in einem Nebental dazu (Karte).

Launch Endalen

Samstag ist der Flughafen geschlossen und wir können früher los. Das erste Ziel ist, in mehreren Profilen im schmalen Endalen entlang zu fliegen. An manchen Stellen sind nur 100m Abstand zwischen Flugweg und Tal. Wir fahren mit dem rumpelnden Raupenfahrzeug raus.

Endalen

SUMO fliegt auf mehreren Wegpunkten in das abknickende Tal hinein und kommt dann Profile fliegend von hinten zurück. Für kurze Zeit verschwindet der Flieger hinter seitlich in das Tal hineinragende Kuppen. Sehr ungewohnt. Normalerweise fliegt man ein Modellflugzeug nicht visuell in Terrain. Es funktioniert alles problemlos.

Adventdalen Fjord

Den Rest des Abends geht es wieder zum Strand von Adventdalen für die See/Land Profile. Wegen eines Wetterwechsels werden es sehr interessante Flüge. Kam die Luft die letzten Tage aus westlichen Richtungen vom Meer, so schaltet es jetzt auf kältere östliche Winde vom Land her um. Die Luftmassen interagieren an der Wassergrenze, schieben sich scharfkantig übereinander und vermischen sich nur langsam.

Grill

Der Tag klingt bei gegrillten Würstchen und Lachs aus.